RWBY: Ice Queendom Anime Trailer Reveals Saori Hayami's Ending Song

RWBY: Ice Queendom (RWBY: Hysetsu Teikoku), the upcoming television anime for Rooster Teeth's RWBY franchise, received an English-subtitled trailer on Saturday via Bandai Namco Arts. The video previews Saori Hayami's "Awake," the anime's concluding theme song.

RWBY: Ice Queendom' presents RWBY in beautiful 2D anime visuals. RWBY imagines a world filled with horrific monsters bent on death and destruction, and humanity's only hope is dependent upon powerful Huntsmen and Huntresses. Ruby Rose, Weiss Schnee, Blake Belladonna, and Yang Xiao Long are four such Huntresses in training whose journeys will take them far past the grounds of their school, Beacon Academy. Though each may be powerful on their own, these four girls must overcome dark forces and work as a team if they truly hope to become the next generation of Remnant's protectors.

SHAFT's anime is directed by Toshimasa Suzuki (Lagrange - The Flower of Rin-ne, The Price of Smiles). The film's principal director is Kenjir Okada (March comes in like a lion). Tow Ubukata (Mardock Scramble, Psycho-Pass 2, Ghost in the Shell Arise) wrote and directed the anime, with Gen Urobuchi (Puella Magi Madoka Magica, Fate/Zero books, Psycho-Pass) conceptualising it. The character designs for the anime were conceptualised by huke (Black Rock Shooter, Steins;Gate), and the animation is being designed by Nobuhiro Sugiyama (ef: a tale of memories, Arakawa Under the Bridge, March comes in like a lion), who also serves as chief animation director alongside Yoshiaki Ito and Hiroki Yamamura. The visual direction is credited to Nobuyuki Takeuchi (Maria Holic, Bakemonogatari). The soundtrack is being composed by Nobuko Toda and Kazuma Jinnouchi. 

Members of the original English cast as well as the Japanese dub will return to reprise their roles for the anime (the Japanese announcement revealed more voice actors beyond the four main characters). Among the cast members are:
  • Ruby Rose is played by Lindsay Jones and Saori Hayami.
  • Weiss Schnee is played by Kara Eberle and Yko Hikasa.
  • Blake Belladonna is played by Arryn Zech and Yu Shimamura.
  • Yang Xiao Long is played by Barbara Dunkelman and Ami Koshimizu.
  • Hiro Shimono in the role of Joan Arc
  • Nora Valkyrie is played by Aya Suzaki.
  • Pyrrha Nikos is played by Megumi Toyoguchi.
  • Sma Sait in the role of Lie Ren
  • Professor Ozpin is played by Kazuhiko Inoue.
  • Main Animators: Hiroto Nagata, Kazuki Kawada
  • Production Design, Extradimensional Space Design: Rui Tomono
  • Art Boards: Hisaharu Iijima
  • Art Director: Ken Naito
  • Color Key Artist: Jin Hibino
  • Director of Photography: Takayuki Aizu
  • Editing: Rie Matsubara
  • Audio Director: Jin Aketagawa
  • Producers: Bandai Namco Arts, Good Smile Company, Rooster Teeth
The opening theme music, "Beyond Selves," will be performed by Void Chords and L. The last theme song, "Awake," will be performed by Saori Hayami.

The anime will also be accompanied by a manga adaptation by Kumiko Suekane (Versailles of the Dead, Blood+ Adagio, Afterschool Charisma) that will appear in Kadokawa's Monthly Comic Dengeki Daioh magazine.

The original RWBY web animation series, created by the late Monty Oum, features four girls who are training to hunt supernatural "Creatures of Grimm."

RWBY: The Official Manga was published in Shonen Jump+ in December 2018 by Bunta Kinami, and it will end in June 2020. The manga was published by Viz Media as part of its Weekly Shonen Jump series.

From November 2015 until February 2017, Shirow Miwa created an early adaption of the online animated series in Shueisha's Ultra Jump magazine. Beginning in October 2017, Viz Media released the manga in its English edition of Weekly Shonen Jump magazine, as well as in print. Viz Media is also the publisher of the RWBY manga anthology series.


Contact Form